Grand Illusion

Grand IllusionPatrick is currently at work on the book and lyrics of a new musical entitled Grand Illusion. It is based on the true story of Bill Robinson, known to the world as Chung Ling Soo, the Marvelous Chinese Conjurer. Soo was killed on stage in London in 1918 while performing an illusion called The Bullet Catch. Only then was it discovered that the Chinese wonder worker was in reality a Brooklyn-born Caucasian named William Robinson. Grand Illusion is a love story in which Bill faces the choice of losing his worldwide fame as Chung Ling Soo, or losing the love of his life—his wife Dot. Although filled with extraordinary illusions, it is a classic book musical—a love triangle in the tradition of Lerner and Loewe. It raises the question—“in a world in which deception is an accepted part of the game, what constitutes a lie?”

Check this page for readings, workshops, and updates.